0 votes
by (340 points)

I am having trouble getting a Windows Service which uses Rebex Mail to install properly. The installation stops with the error that the assembly Rebex.Mail, Version=2.0.5715.0..." cannot be found.

This is my first attempt at writing a Window Service. There is a reference with Copy Local=true in my project:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Rebex Components 2015 R4.1\bin\net-4.0\Rebex.Mail.dll

Is that the proper approach, as it is with desktop applications?

Do I need to move the Rebex.Mail.dll into my project's /debug folder, so it is in the same folder as the myservice.exe?

Applies to: Rebex Secure Mail

1 Answer

0 votes
by (144k points)

.NET doesn't search Rebex Components install folders when loading referenced DLL, which means that in order to deploy your application, you should either deploy the referenced DLLs such as Rebex.Mail.dll (and its dependencies) with your application's executable into the same directory, or install the shared DLLs into Global Assembly Cache (GAC). The first option seems to be used more often nowadays.

Check out the related discussion on Stack Overflow for additional information.

Having a reference with Copy Local=true makes Visual Studio copy the references DLL into our projects's output folder (such as Debug or Release), so it should actually end up in the same folder as myservice.exe. If it's not, something is wrong somewhere...

by (340 points)
I have confirmed that the Rebex DLLs are in my output folder with the executable.   I can install the service successfully when there are no references to Rebex DLLs; but when I add references to Rebex with Copy Local=true,  the install fails. Do these DLL names need to be included on the installutil.exe command line, when installing the service?
by (144k points)