0 votes
by (160 points)
edited

Hi, I'm evaluating your Rebex Terminal Emulation package to see if we can get it to work with our existing private keys. I believe our keys are RSA, though I am not an expert at it.

I have not been able to get the SshPrivateKey capability to work. The attached image shows the error I am getting. I'm pretty sure I'm passing the correct key in the keyblob variable.

Are you able to see what I am doing wrong?

Thanks

4 Answers

0 votes
by (58.9k points)
edited

Hi,

I cannot see the image of the error. Would it be possible to send us the full stack trace of the exception that you get with the following code snippet?

try
{
    // load the private key
    var privateKey = new SshPrivateKey("path", "password");
}
catch(Exception ex)
{
    Console.WriteLine(ex.ToString());
}

For your information the currently supported private key formats include PKCS #8, OpenSSH/OpenSSL and PuTTY .ppk formats. Further info (and format examples) can be found in the Ssh private keys feature page. Please send us the content of ex.ToString and we should be able to help you then.

0 votes
by (160 points)
edited

Here are the results from the Exception you requested:

System.Security.Cryptography.CryptographicException: Invalid key format.
   at Rebex.Security.Cryptography.Pkcs.PrivateKeyInfo.EJ(Byte[] A, Int32 B, ZE&
C, KeyAlgorithm& D, String& E)
   at Rebex.Security.Cryptography.Pkcs.PrivateKeyInfo.Load(Stream input, String
password)
   at Rebex.Net.SshPrivateKey.N(Stream A, String B)
   at Rebex.Net.SshPrivateKey..ctor(Byte[] data, String password)
   at UnixAlerter.Program.Main(String[] args) in c:\dev\UnixAlerter\RebexAlerter
\Program.cs:line 49

The link to the image should be:

Thank you for your help

0 votes
by (144k points)
edited